Tag Archives: Richard Hoagland

The Asteroid that Whisked by Earth

Did you feel it?

That huge asteroid that got conspiracy kooks all atwitter, such as Richard Hoagland who hysterically claimed that the asteroid would “smash” into the Moon on Nov. 9, 2011 — today.

Well, asteroid 2005 YU55 did whisk by Earth, nor did it smash into the Moon.

Here are some radar images of the asteroid from Space.com. The pics were taken on Nov. 7, 2011, at 11:45 a.m. PST (2:45 p.m. EST/1945 UTC), when the space rock was at 3.6 lunar distances, which is about 860,000 miles from Earth.

Did you see how the asteroid “smashed” into the Moon? LOL

Photo credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech

We can now go on to the next apocalyptic event.

Today, Nov. 9, 2011, at 2 p.m., EST, FEMA and the FCC will conduct America’s first ever Emergency Alert System test. The test is “to assess the readiness and effectiveness of the current system and identify incremental improvements to better serve our communities in the preservation of life and property,” according to the FEMA website.

This is similar to the brief, but annoying, Emergency Alert System tests you hear on radio.

But this one is different, because it’s not just radio, but television this time. “All local, cable, and satellite TV stations across the country, as well as radio,” will be involved in the test, which will last “approximately three minutes.”

Which means that for the duration of  a pop song, every household, car and business in America–except for NOAA weather radio—will be pulsing, squawking, hissing and whistling a test message that begins with the ominous phrase, “This is a test.”

I suggest Hoagland, et al, should worry about this asteroid instead:

~Eowyn